Back to News

Divorce abroad – pension settlement in Switzerland

AMATIN AG, 2020

Employees save up their pension fund assets (pension assets from the occupational pension plan, i.e. 2nd pillar) throughout their working life. The retirement assets consist of contributions paid in by employees and employers with a view to retirement. As a rule, both divorced spouses are entitled to half of the retirement assets acquired during the marriage.

The pension funds carry out the division based on a court decision. As of 1 January 2017, only Swiss courts are authorized to order the pension funds to carry out the division. Foreign divorce decrees containing such a division provision can no longer be recognized in Switzerland and Swiss pension funds are not entitled to divide on the basis of a foreign divorce decree.

As a result, a foreign divorce decree must be supplemented in Switzerland if one or both divorced spouses worked in Switzerland during the marriage. Only in this way can the Swiss pension assets be divided equally between the divorced spouses.

The foreign divorce decree can be supplemented in Switzerland as soon as it has become legally binding. It is advisable to discuss with the Swiss attorney before the divorce negotiations begin which tax arrangements can be beneficial to both parties.

Key contact

Contact our Specialists

post 1

Martin BoosAttorney at Law, Partner

martin.boos@amatin.ch
+41 61 202 91 91

Email
post 1

Roman Kälin-BurgyAttorney at Law, Partner

roman.kaelin-burgy@amatin.ch
+41 61 202 91 91

Email

Get in touch

For free information about the different types of legal advice.

Contact

Zurück zu News

Scheidung im Ausland – Vorsorgeausgleich in der Schweiz

AMATIN AG, 2020

Ein Ehegatte arbeitet in der Schweiz, lässt sich aber im Ausland scheiden. Durch seine Erwerbstätigkeit in der Schweiz hat er ein Vorsorgeguthaben (Pensionskasse, d.h. 2. Säule) angespart, welches bei der Scheidung in aller Regel hälftig geteilt werden muss. Die Teilung dieses Vorsorgeguthabens kann nur ein Schweizer Gericht anordnen, weshalb das ausländische Scheidungsurteil in der Schweiz ergänzt werden muss. 

Das Pensionskassenguthaben (Vorsorgeguthaben aus der beruflichen Vorsorge, d.h. 2. Säule) sparen sich Arbeitnehmende im Verlaufe ihres Erwerbslebens an. Das Vorsorgeguthaben besteht aus Beiträgen, welche Arbeitnehmende und Arbeitgebende im Hinblick auf die Pensionierung einbezahlen. In aller Regel     steht beiden geschiedenen Ehegatten die Hälfte des während der Ehe erworbenen Vorsorgeguthabens zu. 

Die Vorsorgeeinrichtungen führen die Teilung gestützt auf ein Gerichtsurteil durch. Seit dem 1. Januar 2017 sind nur noch Schweizer Gerichte berechtigt, die Vorsorgeeinrichtungen anzuweisen, die Teilung vorzunehmen. Ausländische Scheidungsurteile, die eine solche Teilungsbestimmung enthalten, können in der Schweiz nicht mehr anerkannt werden und die schweizerischen Vorsorgeeinrichtungen sind nicht berechtigt, eine Teilung gestützt auf ein ausländisches Scheidungsurteil durchzuführen. 

Dies hat zur Folge, dass ein ausländisches Scheidungsurteil zwingend in der Schweiz ergänzt werden muss, wenn einer der oder beide geschiedenen Ehegatten während der Ehe in der Schweiz arbeitete. Nur so kann das schweizerische Vorsorgeguthaben hälftig auf die geschiedenen Ehegatten aufgeteilt werden. 

Das ausländische Scheidungsurteil kann in der Schweiz ergänzt werden, sobald dieses rechtskräftig geworden ist. Es ist sinnvoll, vor Aufnahme der Scheidungsverhandlungen mit dem/der schweizerischen Anwalt/Anwältin zu erörtern, welche steuerlichen Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten für beide Seiten vorteilhafte Auswirkungen haben können. 

SPEED READ: One spouse works in Switzerland, but divorces abroad. Through his gainful employment in Switzerland, he has saved up a retirement capital (pension fund, i.e. 2nd pillar), which usually has to be divided in half in case of divorce. Only a Swiss court can order the division of this retirement assets, which is why the foreign divorce decree must be supplemented in Switzerland.  

SUPErLiREL’un des conjoints travaille en Suisse mais divorce à l’étranger. En travaillant en Suisse, il a accumulé un capital de retraite (caisse de pension, c’est-à-dire 2e pilier), qui doit généralement être divisé en deux en cas de divorce. Seul un tribunal suisse peut ordonner le partage de ces avoirs de retraite, c’est pourquoi le jugement de divorce étranger doit être complété en Suisse.

Kontaktpersonen

Kontaktieren Sie unsere Spezialisten

post 1

Martin BoosAttorney at Law, Partner

martin.boos@amatin.ch
+41 61 202 91 91

Email
post 1

Roman Kälin-BurgyAttorney at Law, Partner

roman.kaelin-burgy@amatin.ch
+41 61 202 91 91

Email

Nehmen Sie Kontakt auf

Wir stehen Ihnen für Ihre Fragen gerne zur Verfügung.

Kontakt